Aruba part 2

Well I guess it's time for part 2 of my internship story,

Let's begin with the fact that flying is not my favourite activity because of my terrible fear of heights but well, you can hardly swim across the Atlantic but after a 12 hour flight with a quick stop in Bonaire I arrived at the beautiful sunny island of Aruba where a colleague picked me up to bring me to my apartment for the coming 6 months. On the way there we made a pitstop at a beachtennis tournament where I had my first tast of life in the Caribbean and boy, did I love it.

The first evening I was struggling not to fall asleep at 9 PM which unfortunately failed, so I woke up at 4 AM. I had some days off before I started my internship so the first day I started to explore the island with someone I met the evening before, We drove to Oranjestad still adjusting to the scorching heat but with a welcome breeze. Oranjestad wasn't that big but all the buildings were very colourful and with an awesome view of the ocean and the occasional cruise ship. I heard of a beautiful beach called Mangel Halto further south on the island so I was curious to see what all the fuss was about, so that's where we went next and it really was amazing. The beach was in the middle of a mangrove forest with enough protection from the sun so you could spend the entire day there. It definitely is one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever visited, only one on Aruba tops this one but more on that later. It was getting late so we went for something to eat and called it a day, It took some time for me to adjust sleeping in the heat but you get used to it after a few days. The next day I started my internship so I had to get up early but I'm going to tell everything about my first few weeks as an intern next time!

It wasn't easy to start a new adventure like this, it took every inch of myself to get on that plane and fly towards somewhere I didn't know anyone and didn't know where I was going to end up. I was anxious that I was going to be homesick but as soon as the plane touched down that feeling never bothered me for the entire 6 months.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active